May 8, 2021

General Election 2020: Sinn Fein’s John Brady elected on first count with 17,297 votes

Sinn Fein’s John Brady has been re-elected as a TD for Wicklow with 17,297 votes on the first count exceeding the quota of 11,887 by almost 6,000 votes.

He was followed in second place by Fine’s Gael’s Simon Harris on 8,765 and Social Democrats’ Jennifer Whitmore on 7,039, both of whom look like taking the next two seats.

The final two seats will be a dogfight between Fianna Fail’s Stephen Donnelly on 5,467, Green Party’s Steven’s Matthews on 5,634, Fine Gael’s Andrew Doyle (4,940) and Billy Timmins (4,679) and Fianna Fail’s Pat Casey (4,473).

Deputy Brady increased his first preference votes by almost 6,000 compared to 2016, while Deputy Harris saw his drop by 2,500.

Stephen Donnelly’s vote collapsed by almost 9,000 from 14,348 in 2016 following his move to Fianna Fail with his former Social Democrats’ protégé Jennifer Whitmore sweeping up his votes.

Result of Count 1:

Joe Behan (Ind): 2,988
John Brady (SF): 17,297*
Sharon Briggs (Sol – PBP): 1,037
Pat Casey (FF): 4,473
Seamus Connor (Aontú): 1,051
Valerie Cox (Ind): 1,805
Stephen Donnelly (FF): 5,467
Andrew Doyle (FG): 4,940
Tom Dunne (Ind): 478
Anthony Fitzgerald (Ind): 79
Eileen Gunning (National Party): 399
Simon Harris (FG): 8,765
Charlie Keddy (Ind): 209
William King (Ind): 20
John Larkin (Ind): 173
Steven Matthews (GP): 5,634
Paul O’Brien (Lab): 1,727
John Snell (Ind): 3,050
Billy Timmins (FG): 4,679
Jennifer Whitmore (SD): 7,039





Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *