Light relief: Stained glass windows to be removed from 200-year-old Wicklow monastery
The winding down of a more than 200-year-old monastery in county Wicklow has reached another milestone after plans to remove its trademark stain glass windows have been approved by the local authority.
Three stunning stained-glass windows that have adorned the entrance of St Mary’s Church in the Carmelite Monastery in Delgany will now be removed to be installed in parish centre at the Church of Most Holy Rosary in Greystones.
The three stunning stained-glass windows were designed by and installed by Harry Clarke Studios during the years of 1940 – 41.
In recent times, due to diminishing numbers, the Carmelite Sisters have decided to sell the Monastery in Delgany and move the small remaining congregation to a Carmelite Monastery in Stillorgan Co Dublin.
The Bishop has instructed that the Church be deconsecrated and religious artefacts be removed from the Monastery before the property is vacated and the removal of the windows is just the latest step.
Permission has been granted to relocate the windows to the Parish Centre attached to the Church of Most Holy Rosary, La Touche Road, Greystones. Already the altar, the chair and the lecturn from St Mary’s Church have been relocated to St Killians Church, Blacklion.
The stained-glass windows will be replaced by windows of similar style incorporating opaque glass matching other existing windows.