September 28, 2021

Slow down folks, they’re now live: 903 new speed zones, including 27 in Wicklow, rolled out today

Slow down folks … more than 900 new speed zones, including 27 in Wicklow, came into effect across the country this morning.

The 903 cameras will operate in areas that have a speed-related collision history where fatal, serious injury and now minor injury collisions occur.

You can check out where they are on

Last week, revealed that the 16 new speed zones were to be introduced into Wicklow in the following locations:

Road Name Location Road Type Number of Collisions
M11 Arklow to Scarnagh Motorway 5
M11 Barndarrig Motorway 3
M11 Junction 15, M11 Motorway 2
N11 Kilmacanoge/ Moorepark National 5
R772 Newtown Mount Kennedy Regional 2
R755 Djouce Regional 6
R115 Glencree Regional 2
R747 Kilcarra /Arklow Regional 6
R747 Aughrim/ Woodenbridge Regional 5
R748 Hillbrook Regional 2
R750 Bollarney Regional 4
R752 Wicklow Town Regional 6
R755 Larragh Regional 3
R759 Lugalla Regional 2
R759 Manor Kilbride Regional 3
R760 Enniskerry Regional 2
R761 Three Trouts Bridge Regional 2
R761 Kilruddery Regional 6
R762 Greystones Regional 12
R767 Bray Regional 7
L1013 Ballybawn Local 2
L1020 Kilcrone to Enniskerry Local 2
L2190 Ballyruane, Arklow Local 4
L5050 Rockingham Local 2
L1007 Monastery Road, Enniskerry Local 2
Abbey Street Arklow Urban 2
Boghall Road Bray Urban 6

Gardaí insist speed vans save lives and the purpose of the cameras is to reduce speed-related collisions and lessen injuries. Road deaths have dropped from 415 in 2000 to 148 in 2019.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *