July 31, 2021

THE VOTES ARE IN: After Count 15, Harris, Donnelly and Matthew join Whitmore on way to the Dáil

Fine Gael’s Simon Harris, Fianna Fail’s Stephen Donnelly and the Green Party’s Steven Matthews have joined the Social Democrat’s Jennifer Whitmore in being elected to the Dail.

Sitting TD and former Junior Minister for Agriculture Andrew Doyle was eliminated with 8,860  votes after his party colleague Billy Timmins failed to transfer in sufficient numbers to him after the 13th count.

Following the distribution of Independent Joe Behan’s 6,187 votes for the 14th count, Whitmore finished on 13,405, Harris on 11,838, Donnelly on 11,018 and Matthews on 9,622  – all short of the quota.

Whitmore was then elected to the Dail with a surplus of 1,530 which saw us go to a 15th count.

Sinn Fein’s John Brady topped the poll and was elected on the first count on Sunday with 17,297 first preference votes.



Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *